sohohousingblog

Normally you hear Soho Housing Association tenants views through "independent" assessors, who then go on to join the board of Soho Housing Association. Get the truth, direct from a tenant, here.

Soho Housing Association, kangaroo courts

11385415-kangaroo-road-sign-with-australia-mapNaturally when a tenant is having problems with their landlord, they try to seek help.

Soho Housing Association provides a number of avenues that a tenant may use to try to redress the problems that they acquire as a result of being a tenant of Soho Housing Association. Without exception they are tortuous and time consuming and the tenant will normally find that the avenue leads them to a blind alley.

In my case, my first resource, when I found I had problems with Soho Housing Association, was to seek solidarity with other tenants. I heard there was a Soho Housing Tenants Association, so that was my first port of call.

Imagine my dismay, when, on my first attendance, I found that the Chairperson of the tenants association was none other than the wife  of the Soho Housing Association Board member who had been watching my flat! I had no choice but to try to put my case before the other tenants, but by looks and facial expressions, the Chairperson made it clear to them that they were not expected to take what I said seriously. I wasted a lot of time attending these tenant meetings, and, at the end, my situation was worse than when I began.

There was apparently, another channel open to me. This was the Soho Housing Association Residents Forum, but that turned out to be a kangaroo court, in which tenants were encouraged, not to complain against Soho Housing Association, but to voice unfounded accusations against their neighbours, ( for instance, so and so is a drug dealer), presumably for the delectation of the listening plain clothes police officers, also tenants, who attended these meetings.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

